SiKing

January 2, 2008

2007: a short summary

Filed under: cyberspace,eire,meatspace — SiKing @ 9:18 pm
Tags:

Well another disastrous Xmas has gone by. If you imagine life as a river and all the troubles that life throws your way are crap discarded into the river, then for me Xmas has always represented a sieve of a sorts where all the shit accumulates and plugs up the normal flow of things. Some of the stuff (especially things that I saw coming for a while now) I have cleared up relatively quickly, but some things (stuff that I have been putting off for some time) I still have to deal with.

My ideal Xmas is to go away somewhere, anywhere, away from everything. I have managed this only once that I can remember (went to Leavenworth, WA); it was, by far, my best Xmas ever.

Let see; here is my 2007 highlights:

  • The switch from Windows to Linux did not happen. Unfortunately, my home computer clanked out so I could not make the full move. Since $JOB provides me with a laptop I really have no incentive to dish out the cash for a new machine, or to dish out the time to fix up my old machine. In the end, I have decided that desktops are no longer worth it, and in the future I am going laptop for the portability.
  • This year I actually started getting bored of computers and technology. This has of course taken a toll on my two hobbies, which I have ignored a lot. I am at least starting to take the time to teach basic computer skills to my children, which kills several birds with one stone: spend more time with the kids, impart some good computer habits in them, and spend some time exploring new software.
  • At the very end of the year I found out that I am a hopeless case when it comes to building long-term relationships. Things were kinda shaky over the summer. We pulled out of that OK, but then hit a major bump in the fall. Unfortunately, I am terrified of the idea of being alone. It’s not that I cannot handle life alone, it’s that I will have nobody to share life’s ups and downs with, and what is the point in that.
  • Public schooling still sucks. When I myself finally made it to university, I found out to my horror that basic education did not prepare me at all for what is coming. I am sensing that my children are headed for the exact same level of unpreparedness. As an example: they are supposed to write a research project. Unfortunately, they have no idea how to do research, how to organize the information, or how to present the information. So I am teaching them what I myself found out the hard way teachers like to see under the heading “research paper”. Primary school is just a very expensive babysitting service!

Very quiet New Year. First time in like 20+ years that I did not have a single drink the whole day … totally unintentional too! Wanted to go see the Dublin fireworks from top of Howth, but it was completely covered by fog. Drove down to Sutton, and saw the entire bay: from Clontarf to Dun Laoghaire. Fireworks on the entire horizon. It was quite beautiful, and in true Irish spirit, it rained. Toasted the new year with hot chocolate with the kids.

Yea, that’s it, rant over.

1 Comment »

  1. You’re killing me, you need to re-read this blog. You and I say the EXACT same thing, too funny.

    Comment by Bonnie — October 8, 2010 @ 4:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

