SiKing

May 21, 2008

Moving Y!360 to WP

Filed under: wp,yahoo — SiKing @ 3:29 pm

Well I started moving posts from my old blog to here. Being a geek, and a lazy one at that, I obviously first looked to some form of automation to do this for me. I found everything from “here just use this tool“, through “maybe this will work“, down to “can’t be done“. I had something like 50 posts on my old blog, half dozen of which were just crap. I often link a lot of my posts to stuff all over the Internet, and about 20% of the links were dead or pointing back to my own blog – no automation is going to fix that. In the end, moving and updating everything manually seemed to be the least troublesome way of doing this.

WP has one very nice feature, where you can change the date of your post. You are able to schedule posts in the future this way, but it also helps with moving old stuff. So, anything that has a date before May 1, 2008 is relocated. I realize that in some places the links are still dead – if you really need to know where a link used to go, feel free to leave a comment under the appropriate post, and I will find it for you. At least I will know that someone gives a rat’s ass.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

