SiKing

July 14, 2008

Californication

Filed under: cali — SiKing @ 3:42 pm

I spent this week in California. It was an (almost) all expense paid business trip, combined with a house-hunting trip. I will be moving here in the second half of August; exactly nine years after I left. Having lived in Europe for the past 4 years, I found I got somewhat desensitized to Americans. Politics aside, I think the one thing that Europeans dislike about Americans, is how happy and positive they always are. The further east you go in Europe, the more they hate this attitude; and the further west you go in America, the more positive they are. A lot of Californians are almost sickeningly happy. 😀 But all kidding aside. Americans are very patriotic. I used to say that they can’t possibly know what patriotism is, considering that majority of the current generation has never known war on their ground. After 9/11 I can no longer make that argument. Today I would say to all those that try to put them down: at least they are proud of their country! Majority of Europeans that I have met complain about something or other of their own country, or the Union as a whole. A lot of things in America are broken, but they are actively working on fixing it. Europeans just passively bitch about life.

Another thing that I like about the Americans is their ability to organize and streamline processes. There is a scene in the movie Transformers, when the soldiers first encounter Scorpinock (yes, I actually know some of the names, due to having kids and all) in the desert. The soldiers that encounter the robot quickly realize they are out matched and they radio for help. The next several minutes are a series of quick flashes between various ground and air support units coordinating, locating, targeting, and sizing up the enemy. In this movie this scene has been heavily beefed up for Hollywood, but from what I have seen and experienced, only Americans have the coordination, planning, and especially forethought to be able to pull off complicated projects down to an art. And this is not just in the military, but in everyday life the “user experience” is totally optimized to make things as easy and convenient as possible. Since I have been gone from the States, everyday common things have been a struggle compared with this past week – and I did have to deal with some shit this week; maybe in another post. The Irish, BTW IMHO, are exceptionally bad in this area. After the past 5 years I am quite tired, and am looking forward to just enjoying life again, that is, moving back to the States.

Although I was never good at politics, American politics are again starting to interest (impact?) me. Note that since I was 18 (that is, of legal voting age) I have actually voted only a handful of times. It’s not out of laziness. The excuse that I usually use is that I am not even in the country where I am allowed to vote, and I think that an uninformed vote is worse than no vote at all. Anyway, here is an article that I happen to read recently that hits right home. From that alone, McCain is my man. I would like someone who takes a stronger stance on net neutrality, and an increase in work visas will mean work for me. Waiting in anticipation how things turn out …

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

