SiKing

March 5, 2010

On the road again

Filed under: canuckia,places,vegas — SiKing @ 12:04 pm

On the road again
Goin’ places that I’ve never been.
Seein’ things that I may never see again

– Willie Nelson

I’m off to Las Vegas.

People are asking me (some variant of) if this is a happy move. It’s like this. I grew up in Calgary, and I like Calgary, a lot, even with the Canadian winters. Unfortunately, since the day that I got out of school I could not find work, actually not even an interview, and people elsewhere were flaunting me with handfuls money. So I set out to conquer the world. But I always wished to return back “home“. 2001 was a particularly bad year, and I was forced to go even further out. But I still kept trying to get back. Well in 2009 it finally happened! I was back in Calgary and I got offered a job here. So I started looking around at settling down here. But after a while it became apparent to me, that even after the recent house crash I will not be able to afford a house here in this lifetime. I don’t get it. Calgary has over a million people, all (most?) of whom can afford to live here. What am I doing wrong?

So, 30% pay raise and real estate prices 30% of Calgary. Happy? Heck yea! 😛

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

