SiKing

June 5, 2010

Few weeks with Isadora

Filed under: iotal,linux — SiKing @ 12:32 pm

Originally I was going to make this entry One week with Isadora, but life got in the way as it so often does. 🙂

I have been running Isadora RC only from the liveCD for about one week. About a week before the final release I decided to bite the bullet and install outright. Overall I am very impressed – it is an amazing system, even more so considering that it is done mostly by volunteers in their spare time.

The good

I think some of these are derived from upstream, but still glad they got fixed by someone somewhere.

  • Absolutely love the new Software Manager. This tool alone makes Linux Mint one of the best distros around! :mrgreen:
  • I love the dark (Shiki-Wise) theme. Only one thing is missing: the extra scroll-up button right above the scroll-down button; I use a touchpad, and I don’t like moving my mouse that much. Half of the other themes have this. Would love to know how to modify this one tiny little thing. For this one thing I switched to the WildMint theme, even though I don’t really like the colour scheme of that one. I did change the default wallpaper to “Service-4” – it’s the one from “At your service” with the big leaf in the bottom RH corner. All the other ones were too busy for my tastes. 😛
  • I would suspend the liveCD each night, and about one out of three times it would not wake up properly. 😕 This problem is gone after the install. I now easily get weeks of uptime on my machine, suspending every night.
  • My post-install script (adding and removing software) got cut like in half! Really just gnome-games, gnome-user-guide, and build-essential. Why are these things still not included in a base system?
  • I no longer have ATI proprietary drivers! I am not sure if AMD opened up it up, or if someone just rewrote it from scratch, but this is great.
  • Compiz + Google Earth works. No more need for fussion-icon.

The bad

  • I am giving the mintMenu a try now; previously I had used the “Custom Menu”, which I think is derived from Ubuntu. Getting to most common applications is pretty easy, but getting to Preferences and Administration (I seem to be there a lot) requires a few extra clicks. I think I am suppose to use the Filter at the bottom, but at that point I need to use both the mouse and the keyboard. I have managed to (unintentionally) crash the menu on at least one occasion, and it does have a few quirky things like random selections are highlighted for no reason that I can see. Still not sure if I am going to stick with it.
  • I had a problem automatically connecting to my wireless network, but in the end I solved it. Still not sure if this is a bug or just user error.
  • What used to be Services under Elyssa is now gone. So I am not sure how to go about adding or removing services now … other than from the command line. Does Ubuntu really expect people to add/remove services from the command line? 🙄

The ugly

Ubuntu decided to change the way the applets in the notification area work. The new way sucks, and I am not alone in my opinion. According to the GNOME team, this is an Ubuntu problem; IMHO it is an opportunity for Mint to distinguish itself from the its parent.

4 Comments »

  1. I when for almost 6 months without rebooting on mint 5. It was an older machine, though.

    Comment by Anonymous — June 11, 2010 @ 4:52 pm | Reply

    • Yup, Elyssa was very good to me as well.

      Comment by siking — June 12, 2010 @ 10:25 am | Reply

  2. If you use the keyboard shortcut ctrl+super and then just start typing the program you want you don’t have to use the mouse for the mintMenu. That is what I always do. to open something like Chrome I just hit ctrl+super, “chr”, down arrow, enter. I don’t even have to wait for it to catch up with me. Once you have the first couple letters in you just need to hit the arrow keys to your selection. And it works with the description too which is really nice.
    I also had a problem with connecting to my wifi. I had to go into the settings and check the “automatically connect” option cause for some reason it wasn’t selected by default.

    Comment by Rothgar — June 5, 2010 @ 2:56 pm | Reply

    • I knew there was something like that, but (there always has to be one those) I don’t have that M$ key on my keyboard, don’t know which key supper is mapped to if any, and don’t know how to map it to something else … yet.

      Comment by siking — June 5, 2010 @ 6:11 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

