SiKing

February 1, 2013

Noki Déjà vu

Filed under: noki — SiKing @ 8:56 am
Tags:

After 6 years my phone finally died. People (some people) are freaked out that I have had a phone for 6 years. However, when I purchased it, I had all intentions of keeping it for at least 10! It powers on, however the keyboard is completely unresponsive. Actually for a few years I had been unable to reflash the OS. Unfortunately the phone took down my entire phonebook with it.

Getting a new phone was like déjà vu, or is that reja vu?

For like a year now I have been talking about getting a new (the?) phone, and actually trying to bid cheap on it on eBay. When my old phone died, due to some personal circumstances, I needed a phone like right now! I just went to Target and got whatever was the cheapest thing in stock. After a few days I decided that all I really need is a phone … that’s it! Just a phone that can make calls, and send the odd SMS text. So one last time I decided to have a browse through eBay, just to see what the current price point is on the N9. When I logged into my account I had a message … from a seller: “where the heck is my money for the phone you bought a week ago?!?!” That’s paraphrased, of course. This was a total surprise. I discovered that eBay completely redesigned their site! Auctions that you are either bidding on and have lost are easily accessible from the left navigation menu (even though the counts are updated correctly only after you click on one of the links). But auctions that you have actually won, are buried at the bottom of the “Summary” page. 😡

I apologized to the seller and paid for the phone right away. Since I am getting a new shiny phone, I even paid for the extra $20 faster shipping. Afterwards, on a whim, I decided to check the seller’s eBay store. The seller is from Hong Kong, and at the top of the storefront was a message: “tomorrow is the start of the Chinese New year celebrations, and so we will be shutting down for a month!” 😯

Update Feb.19: And it does not end there. The seller shipped it to the wrong address (someplace in California). USPS says they will wait 30 days and ship it back if it is unclaimed. 😦

Probably faith telling me that the cheapo is good enough for me?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

